Nourish, Navigate & Nurture – 30 Day Yoga & Meditation Challenge Week 1

IMG_0503

Starting a 30-day yoga challenge when I have almost zero yoga experience, and then going away for a week, is not the smartest thing I have ever done.

I have done worse.

Like the time I dropped my mobile phone down the wall behind a toilet in a bar and had to get a male bartender with a very large hook to help me retrieve it (in my defense I thought there was a shelf, not an empty cavity).

Or the time I tried to roll-start my old car by myself down a driveway and never quite got it started before hitting the main road (I kept jumper leads in the boot after that).

And most recently changing my internet and phone plans to iinet for what I believed was a cheaper deal than Telstra, but missing the not so fine print that shows the deal excludes telephone calls….

Anyway.

Not the smartest thing, especially given my previous yoga experience consisted of a handful (literally) of classes and I am not really someone that can bend and flex and put feet and legs in strange places.

But I knew that I would be away that first week when I signed up, so I can’t plead ignorance.

I joined the 30-day challenge for a few reasons;

  1. because I had just finished the 30 day Primal Junction food challenge, with success, and was on a bit of a challenge high
  2. because my hips are in desperate need of some mobility and I thought yoga could help me which would then in turn help everyone else who sees me at CFHE and constantly hears the poor coaches screaming “Stacey open your hips!”
  3. because I am slightly bored and thought why not.

My first ever class at Kula Yoga was on Day 25 of my Primal Junction Paleo Challenge and apart from the one other I did in preparation before the challenge that was basically it.

As I pointed out not the smartest thing.

So August 10th I headed over to Kula bright and early for what would be the first of many many yoga classes over the next 30 days.  I was excited and a little nervous, but open-minded even if my hips were still closed. Overall, I was very much looking forward to it. And I had a friend doing it with me, someone who I could whine to, draw support from and do classes with.

I made it to two classes in that first week.

Both on that first Saturday and one that was actually the meditation following on directly from the class.

So really, I did one. One on the first day. One in seven days.

I was off to a great start.

I do really need to point out, that it was not due to laziness I missed Kula Yoga that entire first week of the challenge, but because I was on the other side of the country from Sunday to Friday.

Sure, I could have maybe made the 10:30am on Sunday class (probably should have) or gone to the Friday night 6:00pm class given I flew home during the day, but it was Collingwood v Hawthorn that night, and football always comes first.

I had to regroup, so on Saturday a full week since the challenge started when I finally got back to the studio I tried really hard not to get scared when I looked at the challenge tracking sheet pinned up on the wall.

Insert scared, horrified, wide eyed, opened mouthed and red face here. 

Colours, stars, shapes, shading of all different types to show what classes what challengers had gone to. Everyone was different in how they chose to represent their status, but there was one thing that was obviously clear as I gazed at that board, borrowed mat in hand. Almost everyone was well and truly on track and almost everyone had more marks than me.

Ouch.

I was loosing, and I hate loosing.

And with the current lack of marks (two yellow blocks) next to my name, I was failing. And I hate failing.

Ok so I know I am not really loosing – given most other challenges would have no idea I thought this was a competition – because its not!

But I am failing. OUCH.

So like an F grade student in Math who must get a D average to pass, I was in for some extra tutorial time. A lot of extra time. Given it was day eight and I had only two little marks that showed I was trying.

I knew when I signed up for the challenge the first week would see me making up classes left right and center, and at the time thought it was no big deal.  But gazing at that board made me have second thoughts.

Which were made worse when my fellow challenger friend told me how tired she had been feeling and that it was a lot more work than she originally thought….

The only thing that helped pep me up as I squeezed my mat into the room ready for the first of a three-hour yoga marathon I was about to embark on, was my ruthless and too fierce competitive nature.

Let’s be honest, I thought to myself, there is no way I am going to fail this challenge.

Again, not the smartest thought process.

Because even after those three hours on Saturday (flow, meditation and hot) and another hour on Sunday (flow) I am still only six little markers in yellow highlighter next to my name.

Only six. When I should have nine. At least nine, probably more. When some people have up to 15 (!!!) already.

I guess now is not the best time to point out ill also be away the last weekend of the challenge….

So my 30 day challenge, of doing 30 classes in 30 days – effectively one a day, is really 30 classes in, in, in 21 days…

Really not the smartest thought process.

Stay with me though people, one week down and yes I might be a tad behind, but I’m sure I can make up for the lost time and lost classes. Although not sure it will really help with my lost mind…

Leave a Reply

