The Primal Challenge Day 5

Friday! The joy of the weekend – it’s so close I can almost taste it. Dairy free and gluten free and sugar free of course.

But let’s be honest, this is the first real challenge, the weekend. We have been skating around the surface Monday to Thursday thinking things were hard, complaining about not knowing what to eat, worried about a faint headache, thinking we were doing so well – or maybe that was just me… anyway, for me, Friday is the first test of real strength.

Friday is – I mean was – known as full fat Friday’s. Where sausage rolls were a breakfast staple and lunch was a $10 pizza and beer.  Friday dinner is normally white wine, Thai food and footy.

Hmmmmm.  Seems a few changes are needed there.

Saturday is normally a big post boxing breakfast that includes eggs (tick) bacon (tick) tomatoes (tick) avocado (tick) and bread (fail) all cooked in oily goodness (fail) and washed down with two ‘skinny’ lattés (fail).

Saturday night – more football, this time with a beer in one hand and a Coles bought chicken schnitzel roll in the other – I always thought it was better than eating Red Rooster or cold meat pies.

Hmmmmm.  A few more changes.

And Sunday is a family roast, complete with an overdose of nibbles and snacks prior, champagne throughout and dessert to follow.

Hmmmmm. Lots of changes. And I thought I was moderately healthy.

In preparation for my weekend war on processed food, I went to Cannings Free Range Butchers last night to shop away my sorrows with some good quality organic meat. I pre-ordered online so it was ready to pick up after work and Sam was very helpful. When I asked if the herb crusted chicken held dairy or gluten, he confirmed it did and swapped it for me to plain,  and then commended me on making a ‘good paleo decision’ thanks Sam!

I must admit, I got a bit too excited with the meat shopping. Again, scared of failing and not having something friendly to cook I shopped as if I was once again living with my Mum and five siblings instead of a husband and two dogs.

  • Short Rindless Otway Bacon – 250gm
1
  • Beef Casserole Cubes – 200gm
2
  • Chicken Schnitzel – 1kg
1
  • Lean Beef & Pork Mince – 2kg
1
  • Chump Lamb Chops – 140gm
4
  • Lamb Cutlets – 80gm
10
  • Lemon & Pepper Free Range Chicken Tenderloin Skewers – 10 Pack
1

Ooops.

But I highly recommend the lamb cutlets which I had for dinner last night, and taking a leaf out of Kacey’s organic tree, served them with sweet potato crisps (I had no parsnip) and a fresh salad.

Tomorrow’s post Leo Berry’s boxing breakfast will be replaced with post boxing fresh food market shopping – and if I feel strong enough a few poached eggs, bacon and tomato in one of the many organic friendly cafes’ on Bridge Rd.

Saturday’s night game will have one of the plain chicken schnitzels with a salad, and water instead of beer.

Sunday’s roast will be fine, with a few modifications, and no nibbles.

So food wise I am set!

But it’s not the food that I am most worried about. Again it’s the glass or two or three of a crisp New Zealand sauvignon blanc I would have enjoyed on the couch tonight or over Thai with friends, that I am already missing.

Especially after the work day I have just had – hence the very late blog post while I eat my ‘lunch’. 

Plus the impending Hawthorn v Geelong footy game on Saturday night is already weighing heavily on my mind. The Kennett curse has bought me to tears more than once, and the stress of the game often causes me to dry retch – so much so everyone at work knows if it is another loss not to expect me in the office on Monday. Yes I know this is madness, but hey everyone has their vices.

Like my sister-in law who was doing her own form of a Primal Challenge and on Day 2 sent me the below text –

Crashed already. Just had a choc ice cream…..

Nooooo!

The reason I’ll never be skinny…..

 Unfortunately for her, I don’t think ice-cream is her only vice, but the love of food – all types of food (sorry Heidi, I’ll bake you that chocolate tart for the weekend to make it up to you).

And my biggest vice (excluding the Hawthorn footy club) is a few drinks on a Friday night to get the weekend in gear.

I can substitute food almost without worry – but why is it that a tall glass of soda water and lemon over ice does not have the same feel for it without the vodka?

What can I replace it with that has some flavor and tricks me into thinking I am unwinding after a long week?

Why does my constant winging about it make me sound/feel/act like a recovering alcoholic?

And why can’t Hawthorn beat Geelong!!!???

cannings cannings2

Leave a Reply

